Adakkaputhur, a bond by marriage

January 21, 2009 at 11:15 pm (Adakkaputhur)

Adakkaputhur is a beautiful place with which I got a bond by my marriage. Yes, it is the birth place of my loving husband Shiju. It is a small village in Kerala, near to Palakkad. I still remember my first visit here. I can feel the breeze inside me, spreading the fragrance of flowers.

It rained on the day I visited there. The chillness outside, got spread inside me too. The drizzling drops of rain, gave a wet and fresh feeling on my face. My parents and I went there at that time.

After that, it was on my day of marriage, again I stepped there. It was summer at that time. But still, the surrounding was cool, may be because I were happy and me always happy and thanks to GOD for giving me such a nice gift of life.

Though there are lots of beautiful tourist places are in nearby distances, around our home like Silent valley, Athirampally falls, I cannot write about those locations, since I haven’t visited those places yet. But, the heart throbbing Adakkaputhur is more than all those places. You will feel the same once when you finish reading this page.

This is our beautiful home with loveable people living in.

Our Home

Our Home

 

 With the blessings of GOD, no evils affect us. 

Lord Krishna

Lord Krishna

Our home is surrounded with all lovely flowers, coconut trees, and mango trees. I have created a seperate post to show the beautiful flowers alone.

Our coconut tree

Our coconut tree

 

Varities of coconuts and mangoes  adds to the beauty, in front of our home.

Chevilani (Red coconut) Tree

Chevilani (Red coconut) Tree

 

The backyard of our home has lots of plants like turmeric, pineapple, cashew, varities of mangoes etc…

Mango tree - night shot

Mango tree - night shot

 

Once, we got 5 mangoes in a single branch of a tree. Those mangoes tasted great. Yummyyy…..

5 Mangoes

5 Mangoes

 

There are lots of medicinal plants available and I don’t know most of their names, except Tulsi. Our mom and dad love plants. Whenever they find a plant, they will bring it to add beauty to our home.

In the front side of our house, there is a well and people around our house used to take water from there, as ours is the only house which has water even during summer. GOD blessed us J 

Well in summer

Well in summer

Just before our house, there is a beautiful quarry, which always has water, even in summer it won’t go down.

Crystal clear water

Crystal clear water

Whenever we go home on holidays, my husband can be found swimming in this quarry. He loves swimming, even for the whole day.

Quarry

Quarry

 

Our ancestor’s house is at a walk able distance from our home. The way to ancestor’s house if fully surrounded with paddy fields.

The paddy field

The paddy field

 

A breath taking location, isn’t it?

Lovely field

Lovely field

Our ancestors (grandma and grandpa) samadhi is there in the side of the tharavaadu (ancestor’s house).

Samadhi

Samadhi

During the month of February, a special function called “Pooram” is celebrated all over Kerala in Bhagavathy amman’s temple. We couldn’t attend that function so far. But luckily, we attended another one interesting function called “Annai Chooruttu”, which means feeding Elephant.

Elephant Chooruttu

Elephant Chooruttu

 

On that day, people will go to temple, where elephants from various locations march.

March of Elephants

March of Elephants

People who booked in advance with the temple trust can feed those elephants. My husband and I got that chance. Our mom kept screaming from upside, whenever we went near to the elephant J

Shiju giving chooru to Aannai

Shiju giving chooru to Aannai

 It rains during the months July and August. Though some people hate rain, as it spoils their work, I always loved it. The fresh smell of soil, sipping a hot cup of tea sitting in the balcony, dripping water from the leaves of the mango tree, everything attracts me. I’m longing to go home.

I love making paper boats and float them in the water around our home🙂

My Boat

My Boat

My boats got sank L

Boat sank

Boat sank

 

The clean plants after a fresh shower.

After Shower

After Shower

The next important people of our home are, our mom’s pet hens. She loves them a lot. She names them and takes care, that sometimes we fight saying she loves hens more than us🙂

Family Members - Hens

Family Members - Hens

Our mom kept nagging our dad, and finally got the castle built for the hens. How is it?

Castle of our hens

Castle of our hens

I have a lot more to add dears. It will keep going and will never ends. So, let me put a force full stop🙂

Thanks for reading.

– Mythili Shiju

19 Comments

  1. bharanim said,

    WELL WRITTEN

    NICE PLACE…WOULD LOVE TO GO THERE ONCE….N SUPERB PICS…..KEEP WRITING

  2. Yugandhara said,

    Nice Pics… great….

  3. Ammu said,

    Thanks gals🙂

    Dear Bharani, You are always welcome…..

  4. Santosh said,

    Hi Mythili;

    A beautiful account of your new land🙂 good photos…

    How is Shiju & Sidharth doing? Hope you still remember us – Santosh & Leena, now with an addition of Amiya!

    – Santosh

  5. moumita said,

    The pics are beautiful… blessed u r to be a native of this amazing place…Good shots!!
    Would love to visit Kerala sometime.

  6. S. Rajendu said,

    My name is Rajendu, native of Atakkaputhur, now living at Cherpalcheri. I am a school teacher at Perintalmanna. My mother is a retd. teacher from Atakkaputhur High School. recently i noticed your blogs. Nice.
    My e-mail id is: rajendu@gmail.com

  7. Aith gopalakrishnan said,

    hi ,
    am Ajit its very nice
    your husbend shiju is my friend , sister shilaja is my class mate,
    kunjumole is our lovely sister and another one shiju father and my father is class mates he know me very well your blog is very nice
    my id is ajithvg10@gmail.com say Mr shijiu my big hi

  8. Rajesh AR said,

    Hi.. Am from Pallattuthodi House.. Even though we are settled in coimbatore, I still love my mom’s lovely adakkaputhur.. Gone are the days when we used to visit adk during our exam vacations… when will i get to c the place back?????

    U brought nostalgic feelings… God bless u and ur family!

  9. SANDEEP said,

    Iam sandeep from adakkaputhoor(near s.s.c.a sports club) worked in uae please give another photos in adakkaputhoor ok…………

  10. Sreejith said,

    Hi all

    Please send me some good photos of Adkaputtur.
    Id jithsreek@gmail.com

    Thanks

  11. chinnu said,

    hai chechee……
    iam from cherpulasseri.
    adakkaputhur is my friend’s native place.
    my friend’s house name is ambalamkunnath.do you know anybody out there.?
    many times i had wished to visit your lovely adakkaputhur.
    even my teacher compell me to visit there,
    is it such a wonderful place to visit??
    ha…one min…my id is chinnushome@gmail.com.
    expects ur reply…

  12. SAJEESH/ Kannan said,

    Hi sis,
    my name is Sajeesh, frnd f sanju(sanjay). Very well done.

  13. Mythili Kannan said,

    Dear all,

    Thank you so much for visiting my blog. I am happy that I am able to get in touch with so many Adakkaputhur friends through this. Thanks once again.

    Warm Regards,
    Mythili K.

  14. chinnu said,

    chechee………….pattumenkil kurachukoodi photos add cheyyamo?.
    iam very eager to see your lovely place.

  15. Ramesh said,

    hi ,
    Iam Ramesh, native of adakkaputhur. its very nice your husband shiju is my friend ,and shiju’s father is also my close airforce friend. we attended shiju’s sister’s marriage recenlty during our vacation in Jun 2011. my id is remesh129@gmail.com say Mr shijiu my big hi

  16. ramla said,

    iam also studied adakkaputhoor highschool 1985 batch

  17. Ragu said,

    Iam Ragu from govinthan kovil steet im in army i love my village and pepole my friends M.Ragu.BBM Army KccBoys. Govinthankovil street .Govinthanpatty .Hanumanthanpatty . ragu.ragu579@gmail.com phone 09159382088

  18. ramachandra said,

    my name is ramachandran my native place adakkaputhur, now iam working in uae. my house is near pothy school . adakkaputhur is a beautiful place. best wishes for everybody. kpram65@gmail.com

  19. Rajesh said,

    Happy to find my family house name associated.. Pallattuthodi Rajesh (rajesharnair@gmail.com) Will visit you during my next vacation.. Rajesh UAE

Leave a Reply

